The Right Places for Different Types of Work

Effective Faith
5 min readApr 29, 2024

This is response to a short post from davíð matthías . Well, sort of. He asks the question, what is your favourite place to get stuff done? This got me thinking. My answer would be different places for different types of work. So, as we think about how to be more effective in using the resources we have available to us, thinking about the place we do so is time well spent. You see, different places lend themselves well to different types of work. And this will change with time and your mood.

I've heard a story - it might be true but I have forgotten enough of the facts that I cannot check. A semi-successful author was struggling to write their next book. Try though they might, the words would not come. They procrastinated, became stuck and distracted. One day, they decided enough was enough was enough and bought a return flight half way round the world. They flew 15 hours, and then flew back and spent roughly $5,000. All of this to put them in an environment where they were forced to focus. And it worked.

Personally, I would not recommend that you buy a plane ticket and fly round the world just to be able to focus. But, the point is that environment can dramatically impact our effectiveness.

The right place for me

So, I have different types of 'work' that impact the ideal working environment for me.

Writing:

When I am writing, whether that is a blog post or a report, I like to be somewhere I…

--

--

Effective Faith

How to live effectively as a Christian in the 21st Century