6 Must Have productivity accessories to make you more effective

Effective Faith
6 min readMay 25, 2023

When it comes to productivity, there is a lot of talk about the big hitters that enable us to get stuff done. These would be the main apps we use for managing tasks, projects, notes and calendar. A lot can also be said about the main devices we use These would be our computers, iPads, keyboards & mice. But, recently I have been thinking that there are actually a lot of things that I use every day that save me time and make me more comfortable and more effective as I do so. So, here are my 6 Must have productivity accessories to help you be more effective. These would be the unsung heroes of my productivity tool kit.

Water Bottles

As I write this I am lamenting the fact I did not bring my water bottle in today and I am working in the library without water. Hydration is a really important aspect of our well being. Other than oxygen, it is the thing our physical bodies need most. I have recently read that a 2% loss of brain hydration can result in short term memory loss and reduced cognitive function. Mild, consistent dehydration, defined by one study as drinking 4 or less cups of water per day, is associated with increased fatigue, sleepiness, lower mood and irritability and loss of attention.

In short, if you want to be effective, then make sure you are well hydrated.

I have 2 main active water bottles. One is a smaller metal one that I would normally have in my bag at all times. It’s not too heavy and being metal it is harder wearing. The one I bought is no longer available — but this one would be equivalent.

I also have a larger one for use at all other times, this would be the one I would bring to the library with me….!!!

Laptop Stand

If I am working on my laptop for longer periods of time, especially at home, I find hunching over the screen looking down on it leaves me with an aching neck and shoulders. This ends up being a distraction. Watching YouTube videos of people’s desk set ups as I do, I noted that a lot of people use Laptop Stands to avoid this.

I purchased this stand about a year ago and it has really helped. Recently I visited the home office of a National Director for a UK based mission organisation and they had the same stand. So it must be good!

Tablet/Phone Stand

Everything I have written above about shoulder and neck pain is also true when I am writing or working on my tablet. But, I also use my tablet for my to do list and calendar. When I am planning time and tasks, having these open on my computer is really helpful but for when I am actually doing the work, I don’t need a screen that size and they serve as a distraction. So I have my calendar and to do list open on my tablet. Using a stand like this one means I can position this however I want. It is also useful for having my script open in portrait mode when I am recording my podcast or videos.

Pocket Notebook & Pen

Being able to quickly capture tasks, commitments and notes everywhere is a key part of any productivity system. For this I mostly use my phone. But I know of plenty of people who do not want their phone by their bed, have a real concern they might run out of battery when out and about on a hike or might not want to get their phone out to avoid being distracted or being rude. So I have this pocket notebook with me at all time to make a note of anything that I might need to whenever I might need to. It never runs out of battery, I cannot access Twitter through and it never rings, bleeps or blurps for my attention.

Notebook/Journal

A lot has happened in my life over the past two years. Someday, I will write about this but not yet. Also, sometimes I will approach projects that are more complex than normal or things that require a lot of thinking. In all of these situations and circumstances, I find that writing helps me think, process and focus my thoughts. I also find that writing with a physical notebook and a good fountain pen aids this. Sometimes, a digital note just doesn’t work.

This notebook has become a favourite of mine and many many thoughts that have moved projects forward or helped me think through complex and difficult things have been written therein. I cannot stress the benefit of this to my productivity and my well being.

Headphones

I have never wanted to spend hundreds of pounds on headphones. Still, cheap headphones that you get for a tenner at poundland are hopeless for so many reasons including sound quality, volume and the fact that they seem to somehow amplify ambient noise. But, we have all bought a pair of headphones in the £30-£50 range expecting an improvement on this to discover we wasted our cash. I did quite a bit of research therefore and the review/comparison site recommended these headphones — the Soundcore Lifedot 2 by Anker.

Honestly — they are amazing. I bought them in October 2021 and I have needed to charge the base/charger unit they are stored in 3 times since then. When I have them in, even with nothing playing, they significantly reduce all ambient noise. This to the point that I am oblivious to the noise of our family home when I wear them. I even don’t hear people knocking on the door to the office. The sound quality is on a par with the best headphones I have ever had (the ones that came with my iPhone 5c) and, compared to the other bluetooth headphones I had before, connecting them to my devices is easy.

I use these when I am walking to listen to podcasts and audiobooks, I use them for listening to music as I work at home or in libraries or cafes. Once, I even put on ambient cafe background noise from a website, whilst in a real cafe, as the people on the table next to me were having a very loud conversation about something just interesting enough to be very distracting.

So there you have it. 6 Must Have productivity accessories to help you be more effective every single day. The unsung heroes of my productivity tool kit. But, unsung no longer. Here is a ballad, written by ChatGPT that will sing the virtues of these might productivity heroes:

In the realm of work and endless tasks,
There dwelled a group with mighty asks.
Their names were whispered in hallowed halls,
The heroes of productivity, standing tall.

First among them, a laptop stand,
Graceful and sturdy, lending a helping hand.
With its adjustable height and ergonomic design,
It lifted screens high, where ideas would align.

Next, a tablet stand, loyal and true,
Holding devices steady, dreams anew.
Unleashing creativity with a gentle touch,
It aided artists and writers, expressing much.

A notebook, the scribe of thoughts untold,
Pages waiting for stories, legends of old.
In its lines, ideas were penned with care,
Recording visions that dared to dare.

Beside it, a pocket notebook, small and sleek,
A traveler’s companion, ever meek.
Jotting notes on the go, capturing the fleeting,
In its confines, innovation found its greeting.

A water bottle, a source of life’s elixir,
Quenching thirst, recharging vigor.
Hydration flowed, refreshing minds,
Revitalizing the heroes, leaving no binds.

Lastly, the headphones, tuned for focus,
A symphony of silence, blocking the locus.
Melodies streamed, cutting through the noise,
Enveloping the champions, amplifying poise.

Together they stood, a productivity brigade,
Their purpose aligned, a unified crusade.
Each hero played its role, essential in its way,
Forging paths to success, day after day.

In offices and cafés, they found their might,
Igniting inspiration, turning darkness to light.
Their legend echoed through the corporate land,
The productivity heroes, an industrious band.

So raise a toast to the tools that guide,
The laptop stand, the tablet by its side.
The notebook and pocket notebook, ever handy,
With the water bottle and headphones, truly dandy.

For in the pursuit of greatness, they never rest,
These productivity heroes, the very best.
With their aid, we conquer mountains high,
Achieving dreams that reach the sky.

--

--

Effective Faith

How to live effectively as a Christian in the 21st Century